Holmes County sectional and topographical map   Save
Holmes County sectional and topographical map
Description: Positive photostatic reproduction of a sectional and topographical map of Holmes County Ohio from surveys by E. H. Burlingame. The map is divided into four sections of 44 x 57 cm each, and includes a business directory and ten insets of Holmes County cities. Cities include Benton, Weinsberg, New Carlisle, Berlin, Holmesville, Middletown, Oxford, Nashville, Napoleon and Millersburg. Also included is a table of distances among these and other cities. On January 20, 1824, the Ohio government authorized the creation of Holmes County, named by its residents in honor of a hero from the War of 1812. Holmes County is located in northeastern Ohio, and is predominantly rural, with less than one percent of the county's 423 square miles consisting of urban areas. The county seat is Millersburg. View on Ohio Memory.
Image ID: MAP_VFM264_2_001
Subjects: Maps--Ohio; Rural Life; Ohio--History--19th century; Cities and towns--Ohio;
Places: Holmes County (Ohio)