'Act for the division of Montgomery County'   Save
'Act for the division of Montgomery County'
Description: This act created Miami County, Ohio, and was signed by the legislature on January 16, 1807. Formerly part of Montgomery County, the new Miami County included territory extending westward to the Ohio-Indiana border, and northward to Indian country. Darke County would later be created from Miami County in 1809, and Shelby County in 1819. The act named “town of Staunton” as the temporary seat of justice for Miami County. "Staunton" is most likely Staunton Township, in which the city of Troy (the current county seat) now resides. Staunton was the earliest settlement of Miami County, dating back to 1799. In both 1839 and 1884, when new courthouses were under construction in Troy, residents of the city of Piqua unsuccessfully lobbied to capture the county seat. View on Ohio Memory.
Image ID: Page1
Subjects: Ohio General Assembly House of Representatives; Ohio General Assembly Senate; Ohio History--State and Local Government--Law; Ohio History--Settlement and Early Statehood; Counties;
Places: Troy (Ohio); Miami County (Ohio); Montgomery County (Ohio)