Elizabeth J. Hauser letter to Lucile Atcherson, September 15, 1914   Save
Elizabeth J. Hauser letter to Lucile Atcherson, September 15, 1914
Description: Elizabeth J. Hauser, a worker from the Ohio Woman Suffrage Association, sent this letter on September 15th, 1914, to Lucile Atcherson, the executive secretary of the Franklin County Woman Suffrage Association. Hauser informed Atcherson that she was sending two maps which Atcherson requested. She asked that Atcherson take care of the posters, and also reaffirmed that the state association needed the Franklin County Woman Suffrage Association to organize the Vorce-Livingstone meetings throughout Ohio. Hauser also informed Atcherson that she could not send any copies of History of Woman Suffrage in Ohio, as their supplies had been exhausted. She responded to Atcherson's plan to have suffragists at the Ohio State University during voter registration and said it was a fine plan. Finally, she responded that Atcherson's comments that things were going well in Columbus were an encouragement and said this was almost typical news. The Franklin County Woman Suffrage Association was formed in 1912, after the Ohio Constitutional Convention elected to bring to a vote the question of removing the words "white male" from the state constitution with regard to voting rights. Headquartered in the Chamber of Commerce building in Columbus, Ohio, the organization put out regular publications, organized public speeches and meetings, distributed literature and held parades in support of the suffrage movement. Women's suffrage in Ohio was defeated in a special election in 1912 and again in 1914 and 1916 before a resolution narrowly passed in 1917 allowing municipal voting by women in Columbus. In 1920, the 19th Amendment passed, extending the vote to women and prohibiting state and federal government from denying suffrage on the basis of sex. View on Ohio Memory.
Image ID: MSS1025_B01F04_08_01
Subjects: Women -- Suffrage; Social movements; Franklin County Woman Suffrage Association;
Places: Columbus (Ohio); Franklin County (Ohio); Warren (Ohio); Trumbull County (Ohio);