Ohio Woman Suffrage Association 1920 convention program   Save
Ohio Woman Suffrage Association 1920 convention program
Description: This program is from the 34th annual convention of the Ohio Woman Suffrage Association in Columbus, Ohio. The convention was held in conjunction with the Ohio League of Women Voters and the State Citizenship School. The convention was held from May 4 through May 6, 1920, at three locations: the Southern Hotel, the Hotel Deshler, and the Chittenden Hotel. The program outlines the schedule of events of the State Citizenship School, The League of Women Voters, and the Ohio Woman Suffrage Association. The State Citizenship School offered curriculum for the political education of women, covering topics such as the organization of federal and state governments, the platforms of political parties, and Ohio's laws regarding women and children. The newly-formed League of Women Voters was introduced to Ohio women at this convention and officers were elected for the Ohio branch of the national organization. The Ohio Woman Suffrage Association also presented their annual reports and resolutions. This convention program also featured quotes to show Senator Warren G. Harding's support of the adoption of women's suffrage. The League of Women Voters was first formed at the national level in early 1920 by Carrie Chapman Catt, President of the National Woman Suffrage Association. Soon, additional leagues began to form at the state and local level, with the League of Women Voters of Ohio being organized in May 1920 in Columbus. The League was first formed to empower women to use their newfound right to vote, and today its primary purpose remains citizen education. To this goal, it supports voter registration efforts, provides information on candidates and issues, sponsors debates and offers publications on public policy and voter engagement topics. View on Ohio Memory.
Image ID: MSS354_B10_Program1920_01
Subjects: Women -- Suffrage; Social movements; Ohio Woman Suffrage Association;
Places: Columbus (Ohio); Franklin County (Ohio);