Ohio Women's Convention resolutions 1850   Save
Ohio Women's Convention resolutions 1850
Description: This booklet was published by the Ohio Woman Suffrage Association on June 10, 1914, at the Anniversary Meeting in Salem, Ohio. The booklet is a reprinting of the resolutions that were adopted at the Ohio Women's Convention at Salem in 1850. The Ohio Women's Convention was held April 19 and 20, 1850, and it was the third in a series of women's conventions that started with the Seneca Falls Convention in 1848. The resolutions deal with the provision of the Declaration of Independence that establishes the unalienable rights of man. These resolutions adopted at the Ohio Women's Convention assert the rights of women and prohibit the exclusion of women from law enactment based on sex. The booklet also includes men's resolutions, which were adopted by the men who had attended as spectators the Ohio Women's Convention. The men's resolutions endorse the political enfranchisement of women and the rights of women by natural law to the same rights which are granted to men. These men also proclaimed their intention to cooperate with women to to have their rights acknowledged by the government. This item comes from the League of Women Voters of Ohio Collection. The League of Women Voters was first formed at the national level in early 1920 by Carrie Chapman Catt, President of the National Woman Suffrage Association. Soon, additional leagues began to form at the state and local level, with the League of Women Voters of Ohio being organized in May 1920 in Columbus. The League was first formed to empower women to use their newfound right to vote, and today its primary purpose remains citizen education. To this goal, it supports voter registration efforts, provides information on candidates and issues, sponsors debates and offers publications on public policy and voter engagement topics. View on Ohio Memory.
Image ID: MSS354_B10_Program1850_01
Subjects: Women -- Suffrage; Social movements; Ohio Woman Suffrage Association;
Places: Salem (Ohio); Columbiana County (Ohio);