'Act for the division of Geauga and Trumbull counties'   Save
Enrolled Bills, 1st-115th, 118th, and 121st-129th Sessions, General Assembly.
Description: This act, signed by the Speakers of the Ohio House and Senate on February 10, 1808, created Portage and Ashtabula Counties and orders land in the Western Reserve to be set aside to form Cuyahoga County at a later date. The act also required Geauga County to annex land in the Connecticut Western Reserve that lay west of the Cuyahoga River, until Cuyahoga County could be formed when the population increased sufficiently. View on Ohio Memory.
Image ID: Om3336_015
Subjects: Ohio General Assembly House of Representatives; Ohio General Assembly Senate; Ohio History--State and Local Government--Law; Ohio History--Settlement and Early Statehood; Counties;
Places: Geauga County (Ohio); Trumbull County (Ohio); Portage County (Ohio); Ashtabula County (Ohio); Cuyahoga County (Ohio)