Amy G. Maher photograph   Save
League of Women Voters of Ohio
Description: This photograph shows Amy G. Maher, the first president of the League of Women Voters of Ohio and the founder of the Toledo League of Women Voters. The League of Women Voters was first formed at the national level in early 1920 by Carrie Chapman Catt, President of the National Woman Suffrage Association. Soon, additional leagues began to form at the state and local level, with the League of Women Voters of Ohio being organized in May 1920 in Columbus. The League was first formed to empower women to use their newfound right to vote, and today its primary purpose remains citizen education. To this goal, it supports voter registration efforts, provides information on candidates and issues, sponsors debates and offers publications on public policy and voter engagement topics. View on Ohio Memory.
Image ID: MSS354_B10_LWVO_AmyGMaher_01
Subjects: Women--Suffrage; Social movements; League of Women Voters of Ohio;
Places: Toledo (Ohio); Lucas County (Ohio)