Myrta Jones Cannon portrait   Save
League of Women Voters of Ohio
Description: Portrait of Mrs. Myrta Jones Cannon of Cleveland, Ohio. Cannon was included on the "Ohio State Honor Roll" from the League of Women Voters of Ohio, ca. 1930, which listed prominent Ohio women involved in the suffrage movement. Her brief biography from the Honor Roll reads: "Myrta L. Jones, a member of the National American Woman's Suffrage Association, was the second president of the Cleveland Woman's Suffrage party. Miss Jones has been a leader in every liberal movement in Cleveland that needed a supporter and a champion. She was president of the Consumer's League of Ohio. A supporting member of the Cleveland League of Women Voters, since its organization, she has always found time to do any special piece of work that has been asked of her." This photograph comes from the League of Women Voters of Ohio Collection. The League of Women Voters was first formed at the national level in early 1920 by Carrie Chapman Catt, President of the National Woman Suffrage Association. Soon, additional leagues began to form at the state and local level, with the League of Women Voters of Ohio being organized in May 1920 in Columbus. The League was first formed to empower women to use their newfound right to vote, and today its primary purpose remains citizen education. To this goal, it supports voter registration efforts, provides information on candidates and issues, sponsors debates and offers publications on public policy and voter engagement topics. View on Ohio Memory.
Image ID: MSS354_B10_LWVO_MyrtaJonesCannon
Subjects: Women--Suffrage; Social movements; League of Women Voters of Ohio; Suffragists; Activism
Places: Cleveland (Ohio); Cuyahoga County (Ohio)